Sign In Forgot Password

Online Learning

Much of our incredible learning has moved online. See below for various opportunities.

Woodlands Webinars

 

"The Upcoming Election: Jewish Perspectives" with Rabbi Mara
Wednesday, October 14 at
12:30 pm - View the recording here
 “Jewish Music: What makes it Jewish?” with Cantor Lance
Wednesday, November 4 at 12:30 pm
"Online Scams - What Kind of Job is That for a Nice Jewish Boy?"
with Rabbi Billy
Wednesday, December 9 at 8:00 pm 
"Jews and the Civil Rights Movement: an honest history" with Rabbi Mara
Wednesday, January 13 at 12:30 pm
“A Brief Look Into Our Cantillation Symbols and Melodies” with Cantor Lance
Wednesday, February 10 at 8:00 pm
"The Worst Seder in the World" with Rabbi Billy
Wednesday, March 10 at 8:00 pm
"What Kind of Zionist are You?" with Rabbi Mara
Wednesday, April 14 at 8:00 pm
"The Book of Psalms -- Anything In There for Us?" with Rabbi Billy
Wednesday, May 20 at 8:00 pm

Special Programs

 

Jews and Justice
Sunday, October 18, 4:00- 5:00 pm on Zoom
How have Jews approached social justice in the past and now? What can the Bible and history tell us about how the Jewish community historically approached the rights of women, minorities and other marginalized groups, and how does the modern Reform movement - and Woodlands - consider those same issues now?
Moderated by David Gaffen, co-chair of the adult learning committee and an editor at Reuters. He'll be joined by attorney Phil Karmel and Rabbi Mara.

Scholar in Residence
Jewish Comedy: A Serious History, with Dr. Jeremy Dauber

Saturday, November 14 - Sunday, November 15

Dr. Jeremy Dauber is the Altman Professor of Yiddish Language, Literature, and Culture in the Department of Germanic Languages at Columbia University. As author of “Jewish Comedy: A Serious History,” Dr. Dauber is uniquely qualified to enlighten and entertain us on the origins of Jewish comedy and its development from Biblical times to the age of Twitter. The program will be from 8 to 10 pm on Saturday and 9:30 to 11:30 on Sunday.


Weekly Treats

 

Talmud

Weekly on Wednesdays, 12:00-1:00 pm
Special sessions with Rabbi Billy:
Weekly on Thursdays, 11:30 am - 1:00 pm - Oct 1-Nov 5; Jan 7-Feb 11


Jewish Studies
Thursdays,
10:00-11:30 am
Join us as Harriet Levine teaches about the Prophets.

Fri, October 30 2020 12 Cheshvan 5781